Contact your rep
Naondel

Details

FORMAT: Paperback PRICE: £8.99 PAGES: 448 Pages PUBLICATION DATE: 01/02/2018 ISBN: 9781782690948

Naondel

Maria Turtschaninoff, trans by Annie Prime

Pushkin Children's Books

The founding story of the Red Abbey Chronicles, Naondel is a thrilling YA feminist adventure.

In the opulent palace of Ohaddin, women have one purpose - to obey. Some were brought here as girls, captured and enslaved; some as servants; some as wives. All of them must do what the Master tells them, for he wields a deadly and secret power.

But the women have powers too. One is a healer. Onecan control dreams. One is a warrior. One can see everything that is coming. In their golden prison, the women wait. They plan. They write down their stories. They dream of a refuge, a safe place where girls can be free.

And, finally, when the moon glows red, they will have their revenge.

Selling points

  • For fans of Ursula K. Le Guin, Philip Pullman and Margaret Atwood
  • A thrilling YA feminist adventure, set in a beautifully crafted fantasy world
  • Rights now sold in 17 territories
  • This is a prequel to the first volume, so you don'thave to have read Maresi to enjoy this book

Reviews

'Told with unflinching clarity... and will stay with the reader long after the book is closed' - Guardian

'Epic in its scope, intimate in its observation: if Maresi felt like encountering a rare and blazing talent, Naondel is here to brand the certainty under your skin' - Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Girl of Ink and Stars

Request

Download an Order Form Contact Your Rep to Order