Contact your rep
Blue Door: Maddy Alone

Details

FORMAT: Paperback PRICE: £7.99 PAGES: 160 Pages PUBLICATION DATE: 05/07/2018 ISBN: 9781782691877

Blue Door: Maddy Alone

Pamela Brown

Pushkin Children's Books

The second book in the Blue Door series, following on from The Swish of the Curtain, the classic story which inspired actors from Maggie Smith to Eileen Atkins.

With the rest of the Blue Door Theatre Company in London training to be actors, poor Maddy has been left all alone in the little town of Fenchester. She longs to follow the others to the big city, but she is 12 years old, and she has maths homework to do.

However, Maddy has never let a bit of schoolwork come between her and her dreams. When she finds that a famous Dutch film director is in town, she leaps at the opportunity: she will be a film star. But stardom isn't an easy life (in spite of the personal dressing room and the lovely costumes) and there are setbacks and difficulties along the way. But with such a stubborn and talented leading lady as Maddy, surely even Mrs Potter-Smith and the headmistress can't stop the show from going on?

Maddy Alone is the second book in the Blue Door series, following on from the classic of children's literature The Swish of the Curtain.

Selling points

  • The second in the series of beautiful reissues of these classic children's books, for anyone who loves the theatre or who longs to act
  • Without these books, Maggie Smith might never have acted: 'I wanted to act before I read [The Swish of the Curtain], and afterwards there was no stopping me'
  • The books were adapted for television and became a much-loved and well-known BBC series
  • For fans of Ballet Shoes, Anne of Green Gables, and the Erich Kästner books

Request

Download an Order Form Contact Your Rep to Order