Contact your rep
The Dead World of Lanthorne Ghules

Details

FORMAT: Paperback PRICE: £7.99 PAGES: 288 Pages PUBLICATION DATE: 24/10/2019 ISBN: 9781782692362

The Dead World of Lanthorne Ghules

Gerald Killingworth

Pushkin Children's Books

What starts as a little sibling rivalry escalates to a life-or-death threat to a little sister. Can Edwin save his baby sister from the terrible dangers of the Dead World?

Edwin really doesn't want to be a big brother. Forced to move house, start a new school and make way for this unwelcome interloper in his parents' affections, he feels like everything is chaos. But things might not be as bad as he fears, as Edwin makes an unusual pen-pal, Lanthorne, who introduces him to a strange world filled with dark secrets and thrilling adventures.

This excitement seems safe until those secrets and adventures start to intrude on Edwin's life and, more worryingly, on the life of his baby sister. Can Edwin and Lanthorne work together to save Mandoline from the evil Aunt Necra? And can they figure out why Lanthorne's family is so divided, and what the terrible secret is that so many people seem to know all about but refuse to share with Edwin?

Selling points

  • A wonderful adventure story with a vivid and occasionally shocking sense of the macabre, perfect for fans of Chris Priestley's Tales of Terror.
  • A fabulously imagined world that will simultaneously delight and chill young readers who enjoy exploring worlds in which everything is not as it first seems.
  • Debut author Gerald Killingworth used to be a teacher, and he knows well how humour spiced with the perfect amount of fear can encourage young readers.

Request

Download an Order Form Contact Your Rep to Order Order a Proof Copy