Contact your rep
Splinters of Scarlet

Details

FORMAT: Paperback PRICE: £7.99 PAGES: 400 Pages PUBLICATION DATE: 23/07/2020 ISBN: 9781782692607

Splinters of Scarlet

Emily Bain Murphy

Pushkin Children's Books

Magic, murder and a search for the truth: a thrilling fantasy adventure from the Waterstones Prize-shortlisted author of The Disappearances.

Marit doesn't like to use magic too often; it always comes with a heavy price. When her best friend is adopted by legendary former dancer Helena Vestergaard and placed in an elite ballet program outside of Copenhagen, Marit draws upon her powers to secure a seamstress job with the wealthy family so that she can watch over Eve. But Marit has another, secret motivation: her father died while working in the Vestergaards' mines, and she has reason to believe he was murdered.

While she adapts to her glittering new life in Copenhagen, Marit starts to investigate her father's death in earnest. With every step she takes to get closer to the truth, she and everyone she loves is put at greater risk.

Soon Marit finds herself at the centre of a power struggle that goes all the way up to the king, and magic may be the only thing that can save her - if it doesn't kill her first.

Selling points

  • Strong female characters with complex friendships, rich world building and a hint of romance make this perfect for fans of Holly Black.
  • A fast-paced and beautifully written adventure that builds on the strengths of Murphy's much-loved, Waterstones Prize-shortlisted debut.
  • Set in an enchanting fantasy world - an imagined 1800s Denmark of castles and magic.

Request

Download an Order Form Contact Your Rep to Order