Contact your rep
These Great Athenians

Details

FORMAT: Hardcover PRICE: £14.99 PAGES: 200 Pages PUBLICATION DATE: 07/10/2021 ISBN: 9781914343001

These Great Athenians

Valentine Carter

Imprint 27

Carter’s fierce debut gives voice to the mostly forgotten and maligned female characters of Homer’s epic The Odyssey. It is a celebratory ode to those who survive within and outside of gender norms.

Faithful Penelope waits for her husband’s return as she weaves a shroud that foretells her doom, Scylla once a beautiful nymph turned monster prowls the seas hungry for flesh, while the witch Circe falls for a man who will leave her. Weaving together their stories and poetic voices, this subtly moving and playful verse novel questions how do those without a voice find freedom within the world of men?

Sales Points

  • A distinctive, lyrical and creative verse novella filled with the sounds of powerful, sorrowful and beautiful women and gender non-conforming voices.
  • Will appeal to readers of Madeline Miller's Circe and Pat Barker's The Silence of the Girls.

Follow us on Instagram


This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: No posts found.

New Website Coming Soon

This website is currently under construction, the brand new Bounce website will be live in November. Stay tuned for more info!